LibGuides: Peace Support Operations: Lester B. Pearson

Lester B. Pearson - 14th Prime Minister of Canada

Lester B. Pearson @ IRC

Lester B. Pearson by Andrew Cohen; Saul Ralston (Editor)
Call Number: 971.0643092 C65 2008
ISBN: 9780670067381
Publication Date: 2008-09-16
In his 2 terms as prime minister, from 1963-1968, Lester B. Pearson oversaw the revamping of Canada through the introduction of Medicare, the Canada Pension Plan, the Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism, the Auto Pact, and the new Maple Leaf flag. Pearson came to power after an impressive career as a diplomat, where he played a vital role in the creation of NATO and the United Nations, later serving as president of its General Assembly. He put Canada on the world stage when he won the 1957 Nobel Peace Prize for his handling of the Suez Crisis, during which he brokered the formation of a UN peacekeeping force. Author Andrew Cohen, whose books have focused on Canada's place in the world, is the perfect author to assess Pearson's legacy.
Pearson: The Unlikely Gladiator by Norman Hillmer; Jean Chretien (Foreword by)
Call Number: 971.0643 P4 1999
ISBN: 9780773517684
Publication Date: 1999-07-08
In this collection of essays marking the centenary of Pearson's birth, eighteen leading academics, journalists, public servants, and politicians recreate and reassess Pearson's premiership from 1963 to 1968. Robert Bothwell (Toronto) introduces Pearson the man and Denis Stairs (Dalhousie) presents his political ideas. Governor General award-winning author and journalist Christina McCall and J.L. Granatstein (Canadian Institute of International Affairs) compare Pearson and his nemesis, John Diefenbaker. Stephen Azzi (House of Commons) and Greg Donaghy (Department of Foreign Affairs) write respectively about the prime minister's relations with Walter Gordon and Paul Martin Sr. Tom Kent (Queen's) and Penny Bryden (Mount Allison) discuss the Pearson welfare state, while Claude Ryan, editor of Le Devoir in the 1960s, and Michael Behiels (Ottawa) debate national unity. Patrick Brennan (Calgary) looks at the media. Monique Bégin (Ottawa), Andrew Cohen (Globe and Mail), Blair Neatby (Carleton), and former public servants Ross Campbell, Al Johnson, Geoffrey Pearson, and Gordon Robertson gauge the scope of Pearson's legacy. The collection also includes an introduction by the editor and a foreword by Prime Minister Jean Chrétien.
The Life of Lester Pearson 1949-1972 by John English
Call Number: 971.0643092 E53 V.2
ISBN: 9780394280158
Publication Date: 1993
Lester Pearson and the Dream of Unity by Peter Stursberg
Call Number: 971.0643 S9
ISBN: 9780385134781
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
Seize the Day: Lester B. Pearson and Crisis Diplomacy by Geoffrey A. Pearson
Call Number: 971.0643092 P3 1993
ISBN: 9780886292171
Publication Date: 1993-11-15
In this uniquely informed account of Pearson's foreign policy in the years 1948-1957, his son places the "Golden Age" of Canadian diplomacy in historical perspective. Called "a clear, fair and well-researched book" by the Ottawa Citizen, and rated as a book of exceptional merit by Quill & Quire.
Freedom and Change: Essays in Honour of Lester B. Pearson by Lester B. Pearson; Michael G. Fry
Call Number: 327.71 F833 1975
ISBN: 9780771031878
Publication Date: 1975
Mike, the Memoirs of the Right Honourable Lester B. Pearson by Lester B. Pearson; Alex Munro; Alex Inglis
Call Number: 971.0643 P437 1972
ISBN: 9780802019134
The founding of the Lester B. Pearson Canadian International Peacekeeping Training Centre by John Mikulaninec
Call Number: 341.580971 M55 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Shadow of Heaven: the Life of Lester Pearson by John English
Call Number: 971.0643092 E53 V. 1
ISBN: 9780886191696
Publication Date: 1989-01-01
Pearson's Peacekeepers: Canada and the United Nations Emergency Force 1956-1967 by Michael K. Carroll; Robert Bothwell (Foreword by)
Call Number: 341.580971 C388 2009
ISBN: 9780774815819
Publication Date: 2009-05-21
In 1957, Lester Pearson won the Nobel Peace Prize for creating the United Nations Emergency Force during the Suez crisis. The award launched Canada's enthusiasm and reputation for peacekeeping. Pearson's Peacekeepers explores the reality behind the rhetoric by offering a detailed account of the UNEF's decade-long effort to keep peace along the Egyptian-Israeli border. While the operation was a tremendous achievement, the UNEF also encountered formidable challenges and problems. This nuanced account of Canada's participation in the UNEF challenges perceived notions of Canadian identity and history and will help Canadians to accurately evaluate international peacekeeping efforts today.
Pearson's Prize: Canada and the Suex Crisis by John Melady
Call Number: 962.053092 M44 2006
ISBN: 9781550026115
Publication Date: 2006-04-15
In the fall of 1956, the world was on the brink of war. Egyptian President Gamel Nasser nationalized the Suez Canal, and Britain, France, and Israel attacked him. Russia supported Nasser, and Soviet Premier Khrushchev threatened nuclear holocaust if the United States became militarily involved. Soon, the matter became a major problem for the United Nations. Fortunately, because of the efforts of Lester Pearson, then Canada's Minister of External Affairs, the crisis was defused. Pearson proposed a U.N. peacekeeping force be sent to Egypt to separate the warring factions there and keep the peace. Because his idea was adopted, Pearson helped save the world from war. For his outstanding statesmanship, Pearson won the Nobel Prize for Peace, the only Canadian ever to do so. This book, written to commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of the event, is about the Suez and about Pearson's work during a tension-filled time in the twentieth century.

Lester B. Pearson 1916-1965

Lester B. Pearson serving with the Canadian Army Medical Corps. 1916. Library and Archives Canada / PA-117622

Oxford University vs. Switzerland hockey game. Lester B. Pearson is at right front. 1922 - 1923. Library and Archives Canada / PA-119892

Canadian Delegation, Disarmement Conference, London, England. Jan. 21 - Apr. 1930. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3365730

[Royal Commission on Price Spreads.] Lester Bowles Pearson seated 6th from left. 1934. Library and Archives Canada/PA-51536

Lester B. Pearson with a pencil. 11 Aug. 1944. Star Newspaper Toronto / The Ottawa Journal / Library and Archives Canada / e002505448

Mr. Lester B. Pearson addressing one of the committees at the United Nations Conference on International Organization in San Francisco. United Nations / Library and Archives Canada / C-018532

Lester B. Pearson presiding at a plenary session of the founding conference of the United Nations' Food and Agriculture Organization. October 1945. National Film Board of Canada. Photothèque / Library and Archives Canada / PA-117587

Lester B. Pearson, as Secretary for External Affairs, and Maryon Pearson with Blackfoot Indian Chief [Rufus Goodstriker] 1950. Library and Archives Canada/C-090478

Honorable Lester B. Pearson. 29 February 1952. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150478

Honorable Lester B. Pearson. 29 February 1952. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150479

Lester B. Pearson and three other men. 1952. Rosemary Gilliat Eaton / Library and Archives Canada. MIKAN 4310841

Louis St. Laurent and Lester B. Pearson. 1953 or 1956. Library and Archives Canada/C-090466

Pearson addressing Indian Press. 1955. Lester B. Pearson / Library and Archives Canada / e002505129

Lester B. Pearson's Press Conference. 30 October 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150559

Lester B. Pearson's Press Conference upon Arrival at Uplands. 15 November 1955. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150518

Lester B. Pearson's Press Conference upon Arrival at Uplands. 15 November 1955. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150519

Lester B. Pearson's Press Conference upon Arrival at Uplands. 15 November 1955. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150520

Lester B. Pearson's Press Conference upon Arrival at Uplands. 15 November 1955. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150521

Lester B. Pearson's Press Conference upon Arrival at Uplands.15 November 1955.Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150522

Press conference at Parliament House. 1955. Lester B. Pearson / Library and Archives Canada / e002505128

Laying wreath at Gandhiji's Samadhi, Rajghat. 1955. Lester B. Pearson / Library and Archives Canada / e002505126

Witnessing music recital by Srimati, M.S. Subbalakshmi. 1955. Lester B. Pearson / Library and Archives Canada / e002505127

Pearson being toasted at a meal by Soviet official, Maryon Pearson at left of photo. Lester B. Pearson / Library and Archives Canada / e002505125

Pearson visiting Soviet Crimea. October 1955. Lester B. Pearson / Library and Archives Canada / e002505123

Pearson enjoying a toast with Vyacheslav Molotov and other officials on visit to Soviet Union. October 1955. Lester B. Pearson / Library and Archives Canada / e002505122

René Lévesque, Radio-Canada reporter, interviewing Lester B. Pearson outside the Canadian Embassy in Moscow. Soviet / Library and Archives Canada / PA-117617

Sir Anthony Eden with Lester B. Pearson. 6 February 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150533

Sir Anthony Eden with Lester B. Pearson. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150531

Sir Anthony Eden with Lester B. Pearson. 6 February 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150536

Sir Anthony Eden with Lester B. Pearson. 6 February 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150537

Anthony Eden and Lester B. Peason outdoors at the Parliament Bldgs. Cameron, Duncan / Library and Archives Canada / e002505455

Anthony Eden addresses Parliament. 6 Feb. 1956. Cameron, Duncan / Library and Archives Canada / e002505456

Sir Anthony Eden with Lester B. Pearson. 6 February 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150534

Sir Anthony Eden with Lester B. Pearson. 6 February 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150535

Lester B. Pearson. 16 July 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150481

Lester B. Pearson. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150482

Lester B. Pearson. 16 July 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150483

Lester B. Pearson. 16 July 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150484

Lester B. Pearson. 16 July 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150485

Lester B. Pearson. 16 July 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150486

Lester B. Pearson. 16 July 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150487

Lester B. Pearson's Press Conference . 30 October 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150558

Lester B. Pearson's Press Conference. 30 October 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150559

Lester B. Pearson - Press Conference. 18 December 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e00715

Lester B. Pearson - Press Conference. 18 December 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150539

Lester B. Pearson - Press Conference . 18 December 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150540

Lester B. Pearson - Press Conference.18 December 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150541

Lester B. Pearson - Press Conference. 18 December 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150542

Lester B. Pearson - Press Conference. 18 December 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150543

Lester B. Pearson - Press Conference. 18 December 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150544

Lester B. Pearson - Press Conference.18 December 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150545

Lester B. Pearson - Press Conference. 18 December 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150546

Lester B. Pearson - Press Conference. 18 December 1956. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150547

Lester B. Pearson Returns from NATO Meeting. 7 May 1957. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150495

Lester B. Pearson Returns from NATO Meeting. 7 May 1957. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150496

Lester B. Pearson. 25 October 1957. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150488

Lester B. Pearson receiving the Nobel Peace Award. December 1957. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150549

Lester B. Pearson receiving the Nobel Peace Award. December 1957. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150550

Lester B. Pearson receiving the Nobel Peace Award. December 1957. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150548

Mr. and Mrs. L.B. Pearson receiving Nobel Peace Award. Duncan Cameron/Library and Archives Canada/C-094168

L. to R.: Hon. Paul Martin, Hon. Lester B. Pearson and the Rt. Hon. Louis St. Laurent at Ottawa after Pearson's return from Norway with the Nobel Peace Prize. 17 Dec. 1957. Duncan Cameron/Library and Archives Canada/ 3219875

The Hon. Lester B. Pearson. 1958. Library and Archives Canada / C-010435

Lester B. Pearson, John Diefenbaker and Hazen Argue prior to Prorogation of Parliament. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150490

Lester B. Pearson, John Diefenbaker and Hazen Argue prior to Prorogation of Parliament. 5 September 1959. Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / e007150491

Lester B. Pearson. August 3, 7 and October 13, 1961. Curtin, Walter. MIKAN 3840406

Lester B. Pearson. August 3, 7 and October 13, 1961. Curtin, Walter. MIKAN 3840407

Lester B. Pearson. August 3, 7 and October 13, 1961. Curtin, Walter. MIKAN 3840408

Lester B. Pearson. August 3, 7 and October 13, 1961. Curtin, Walter. MIKAN 3840409

Lester B. Pearson. August 3, 7 and October 13, 1961. Curtin, Walter. MIKAN 3840413

Lester B. Pearson. August 3, 7 and October 13, 1961. Curtin, Walter. MIKAN 3840414

Lester B. Pearson. August 3, 7 and October 13, 1961. Curtin, Walter. MIKAN 3840415

Lester B. Pearson. August 3, 7 and October 13, 1961. Curtin, Walter. MIKAN 3840416

Lester B. Pearson. August 3, 7 and October 13, 1961. Curtin, Walter. MIKAN 3840417

Lester B. Pearson. August 3, 7 and October 13, 1961. Curtin, Walter. MIKAN 3840418

Lester B. Pearson. August 3, 7 and October 13, 1961. Curtin, Walter. MIKAN 3840419

Lester B. Pearson. August 3, 7 and October 13, 1961. Curtin, Walter. MIKAN 3840420

Lester B. Pearson. August 3, 7 and October 13, 1961. Curtin, Walter. MIKAN 3840421

Lester B. Pearson. August 3, 7 and October 13, 1961. Curtin, Walter. MIKAN 3840428

Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson and the Deputy Ministers. April 1963. Dominion Wide/Library and Archives Canada/PA-66817

Rt. Hon. Lester B. Pearson, in office, East Block, Parliament Building. Apr. 1963. Duncan Cameron/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3219855

Rt. Hon. Lester B. Pearson in office, East Block, Parliament Buildings. April 1963. Duncan Cameron/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3219856

Lester B. Pearson. Duncan Cameron/Library and Archives Canada/PA-57932

Rt. Hon. Lester B. Pearson (Press conference). Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / PA-057933

Lester B. Pearson, Prime Minister of Canada, with John F. Kennedy, President of the United States of America, sitting on porch at the Kennedy compound. May 1963. Library and Archives Canada / C-090482

W/C Bob Edwards, Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson at 1 Wing Marville, France. 18 January 1964. Government of Canada. MIKAN 4816374

L.B. Pearson with L.B. Johnson at White House. January 21, 1964. Library and Archives Canada/C-0090352

Pearson's visit to France. P.M. Pearson, Madame Pomidou at Palace Lunch at matignon, Paris France. (Paul Martin, & Maurice Couvre de Murville of External Affairs), Jan. 1964. Cameron, Duncan / Library and Archives Canada / PA-110784

"...from wot I 'ear, some of you blokes, 'ave found this 'ere self-government ain't has easy has it looks.". July 15, 1964. Library and Archives Canada, Acc. No. 1988-243-186

Lester B. Pearson with Native Chief. Library and Archives Canada/C-090442

Federal-Provincial Conference on the Constitution. Oct 1964. Library and Archives Canada/C-0094169

L.B. Pearson's Press Conference re: the Flag. Duncan Cameron/Library and Archives Canada/PA-136153

"Pearson Tour", Lester B. Pearson, Sask. Cameron, Duncan / Library and Archives Canada / PA-057936

"Pearson Tour". Lester B. Pearson, Sask. 1965. Cameron, Duncan / Library and Archives Canada / PA-057937

"Pearson Tour". Lester B. Pearson, Blind River, Sask. 1965. Cameron, Duncan / Library and Archives Canada / PA-057938

Lester B. Pearson with D.B. Sangster, acting Prime Minister of Jamaica, meeting Jamaican officials. November, 1965. Government of Jamaica. MIKAN 3775844

Lester B. Pearson talking to Jamaican officials. November, 1965. Government of Jamaica. MIKAN 3775846

Lester B. Pearson inspecting Jamaican Guards of Honour. November 1965. MIKAN 4282952

Lester B. Pearson with Jamaican Governor-General Clifford Clarence Campbell. November, 1965. Jamaican Government. MIKAN 4282959

Lester B. Pearson saying good-bye to acting Jamaican Prime Minister D.B. Sangster. November 1965. MIKAN 4282963

Lester B. Pearson and General Norstadt of Norad at Center Block of Parliament Hill. Library and Archives Canada/C-090465

Lester B. Pearson with his grandchildren. 1964. Gerald Campbell/Library and Archives Canada/C-090470

Lester B. Pearson in academic robes upon receiving an honourary degree. 1965. Atlantic Films/N. Skudea or M. Skudra/Library and Archives Canada/C-090377

Official opening of the Macdonald-Cartier Bridge. 15 Oct. 1965.

Lester B. Pearson 1965-1967

Lester B. Pearson with New Science Council. 5 July 1966.Copyright assigned to Library and Archives Canada by copyright owner Duncan Cameron. MIKAN 4704806

Lester B. Pearson with New Science Council.5 July 1966.Copyright assigned to Library and Archives Canada by copyright owner Duncan Cameron. MIKAN 4704805

Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson congratulating medal winners of gymnastics at the first Canadian Winter Games at Québec City.February 11-19, 1967. Canada. Fitness and Amateur Sports Directorate/Library and Archives Canada. MIKAN 4741173

Pierre Elliott Trudeau, John Turner, Jean Chrétien and Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson following Cabinet changes.4 Apr. 1967.Duncan Cameron / Library and Archives Canada / PA-117107

Rt. Hon. Lester B. Pearson entering the new Public Archives and National Library after official opening ceremony, 395 Wellington Street. 20 June 1967. Duncan Cameron/Library and Archives Canada/PA-130859

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and her Canadian Ministers at Rideau Hall. Ottawa, Ont., 1 July 1967. Judy LaMarsh / Library and Archives Canada, e010835237

Roy Task taking film of officials at Government House. L.B. Pearson in centre, front row. Tash, R. / Library and Archives Canada / PA-067254

Opening day at Expo 67 with General Commissioner of Expo 67 Pierre Dupuy, Governor General of Canada Roland Michener, Prime Minister of Canada Lester B. Pearson, Premier of Quebec Daniel Johnson and Maire of Montreal Jean Drapeau. Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 31998338

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II on stage with Prince Philip, Lester B. Pearson, John Diefenbaker, Judy LaMarsh and other officials. 1967. John Evans Photography Ltd./Library and Archives Canada, e010835238

Prince Phillip and Lester B. Pearson at the opening ceremonies of the 1967 Pan Am Games in Winnipeg. Canada. Fitness and Amateur Sport Directorate / Library and Archives Canada / PA-205036

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and Prime Minister of Canada Lester B. Pearson in the minirail at Expo 67. 3 July 1967. Library and Archives Canada / MIKAN 3198474

Prime Minister of Canada Lester B. Pearson in front of the France Pavilion at Expo 67. Library and Archives Canada / MIKAN 3198465

Closing ceremonies of Expo 67 with Prime Minister of Canada Lester B. Pearson, Governor General Roland Michener, Prime Minister of Quebec Daniel Johnson and Maire of Montreal, Jean Drapeau. Library and Archives Canada / MIKAN 3198438

Prime Minister of Canada Lester B. Pearson in the minirail at Expo 67.Library and Archives Canada / MIKAN 3198466

Prime Minister of Canada Lester B. Pearson in front of the Katimavik at Expo 67. Library and Archives Canada / MIKAN 3198467

Prime Minister of Canada Lester B. Pearson during the television programme 20,000 Questions. 27 Nov. 1967. Duncan Cameron/Library and Archives Canada/PA-167556

Lester B. Pearson and Bobby Hewitson at the Hockey Hall of Fame, Toronto. Hockey Hall of Fame / Library and Archives Canada / PA-048961

Centre, left to right: Lester B. Pearson and Bobby Hewitson. Hockey Hall of Fame / Library and Archives Canada / PA-048971

Roy, Tash and Lester B. Pearson. Tash, Roy / Library and Archives Canada / PA-067261

View looking towards bookshelves on the east wall of Lester Pearson's study. Sept. or Oct. 1973. Library and Archives Canada/C-114784

Funeral 1972

Lester B. Pearson funeral. Ted Grant. MIKAN 4084308

Lester B. Pearson funeral. Ted Grant. MIKAN 4084310