LibGuides: Peace Support Operations: Cambodia

Cambodia

CANADA REMEMBERS: The Canadian Armed Forces in Cambodia

Cambodia @ IRC

Canada and Missions for Peace: Lessons from Nicaragua, Cambodia, and Somalia by Gregory Wirick (Editor); Robert Miller (Editor)
Call Number: 341.584 C36 1998
ISBN: 9780889368675
Publication Date: 1999-02-01
The end of the Cold War was to usher in a new era of international peace and security. Instead, new types of conflicts have emerged and the international community has had to react quickly. New threats to peace have been countered with varying doses of peacemaking, peacekeeping, and, today, peace-building. This newest approach --- peace-building --- recognizes that the sources of violent conflict are complex and that human security and international stability will only be achieved by integrating political, military, and development efforts. Canada and Missions for Peace explores Canada's involvement in recent international efforts to resolve violent conflicts in Nicaragua, Cambodia, and Somalia. It examines the complex interface between foreign policy, international security, and international development. In doing so, this book joins the ever-growing body of scholarship on the new peace-building agenda, offering a unique vantage point. Perhaps it is too early to tell if a concern for international security can be combined with a concern for human security and well-being to form a new peace-building "architecture." The lessons and insight contained in Canada and Missions for Peace, however, will bring this vision into clearer focus.
Canadian Peacekeepers in Indochina, 1954-1973 by Arthur E. Blanchette
Call Number: 341.584 C365 2002
ISBN: 9780919614963
Publication Date: 2001-09-01
This is a collection of personal reminiscences and first-hand recollections of diplomatic service in war-torn Indochina beginning in the late 1950s with the International Supervisory Commission and concluding with the last days of that terrible and desperate war in Viet Nam. These remarkable essays throw much new light on Canada’s foreign policy in the far east, and they also provide us with rare insights into the ill-fated American operations. Contributors range from those who served with ambassadorial rank to those who lent support in more modest capacities.

Cambodia 1954

The Colombo Plan Pakistan, Nepal, Mekong R., India, Burma, Vietnam, Malaya, Cambodia, Singapore, N. Borneo, Indonesia. [graphic material] : Plan de Colombo. Library and Archives Canada; Copyright: Canada Post Corporation. MIKAN 2264668

Mr. Roland W. Murray in Pnom Penh, Cambodia, in bed under mosquito netting. Library and Archives Canada. MIKAN 4297807

Members of the office staff at the Canadian Delegation in Pnom Penh, Cambodia, exhibiting the 'sampots' worn around their quarters. May 1955. Library and Archives Canada. MIKAN 4297808

Members of the office staff at the Canadian Delegation in Pnom Penh, Cambodia, lounging in their quarters wearing 'sampots'. May 1955. Library and Archives Canada. MIKAN 4297809

Indian signaller at the wireless set in Delegation Headquarters, Battambang, Cambodia. May 1955. Library and Archives Canada. MIKAN 4297812

Members of the Political Advisers' Committee meet in Pnom Penh, Cambodia. Library and Archives Canada. MIKAN 4297813

Report being discussed at Canadian Delegation Headquarters in Pnom Penh, Cambodia. May 1955. MIKAN 4297814

Capt. W. M. Parker shopping in Battambang market place, Cambodia. May 1955. MIKAN 4297819

Members of the International Supervisory Commission at Battambang, Cambodia, are shown questioning a Cambodian woman. Library and Archives Canada. MIKAN 4297817

Members of the International Supervisory Commission at Battambang, Cambodia, are shown entering a small Cambodian village to make an investigation. May 1955. Library and Archives Canada. MIKAN 4297821

Capt. W. M. Parker and Maj. C. H. Graham playing darts at the headquarters in Battambang, Cambodia. May 1955. Library and Archives Canada. MIKAN 4297822

Maj. H. W. Mulherin pays a 'pousse-pousse' driver in front of Hotel Royal in Pnom Penh, Cambodia. May 1955. Library and Archives Canada. MIKAN 4297824

Group photograph of the Canadian Delegation of the International Supervisory Commission in Pnom Penh, Cambodia. May 1955. Library and Archives Canada. MIKAN 4297838

Roy Tash photographing Hon. Paul Martin with King Suramarit in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. 1956 Globe-Circling Tour. Tash, R. / Library and Archives Canada / PA-067237