At the Sharp End: Canadians Fighting the Great War 1914-1916 by 
Troops leaving trenches during the Battle of the Somme. Library and Archives Canada / PA-207187
Stretcher Bearers (2nd Battalion, Cdn. Expeditionary Force) at Scottish Lines near Poperinhge, not far from Ypres. This photo was taken by an Official War Photographer while the 2nd Bn. was out in Rest Billets after fighting at Sanctuary Woods, Maple Copse (Battles of the Somme). June, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000355
Signallers (2nd Battalion, Cdn. Expeditionary Force) at Scottish Lines near Poperinhge, not far from Ypres. This photo was taken by an Official War Photographer while the 2nd Bn. was out in Rest Billets after fighting at Sanctuary Woods, Maple Copse (Battles of the Somme). June, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000338
Bombing Platoon (2nd Battalion, Cdn. Expeditionary Force) at Scottish Lines near Poperinhge not far from Ypres. This photo was taken by an Official War Photographer while the 2nd Bn. was out in Rest Billets after fighting at Sanctuary Woods, Maple Copse (Battles of the Somme). June, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000344
Cyclists (2nd Battalion, Cdn. Expeditionary Force) at Scottish Lines near Poperinhge, not far from Ypres. This photo was taken by an Official War Photographer while the 2nd Bn. was out in Rest Billets after fighting at Sanctuary Woods, Maple Copse (Battles of the Somme). June, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000385
Observatory Ridge from Maple Copse (Battle of the Somme). July, 1916.Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000097
From Observatory Ridge (Battle of the Somme). July 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000102
Scene in Maple Copse (Battle of the Somme). July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000070
Original front line German trench, near Fricourt (Battles of the Somme). July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000309
From Observatory Ridge, (Battle of the Somme). July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000106
From Observatory Ridge, (Battle of the Somme). July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000108
Observatory Ridge from Maple Copse (Battle of the Somme). July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000105
From Observatory Ridge, (Battle of the Somme). July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000109
From Observatory Ridge, (Battle of the Somme). July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000107
General view of battlefield looking towards Contalmaison (Battle of the Somme). July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000198
Observatory Ridge from Maple Copse (Battle of the Somme). July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000265
Armagh Wood from Observatory Ridge, (Battle of the Somme). July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000088
German trenches, demolished by artillery, showing German dead. July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000287
A mine crator. July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000216
Mine crater exploded under front line German trench. July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000293
German communication trench after British bombardment. July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000302
A ruined village and church. July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000264
Blowing up a block in a trench. July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000236
German trenches demolished by artillery. July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000174
German trenches, demolished by artillery. July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000180
German Trenches demolished by artillery. July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000439
German trenches demolished by artillery, showing German dead. July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000473
German trenches demolished by artillery, showing German dead. July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000128
Blowing up wire. July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000271
Bringing in the dead. July, 1916 Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3520928
A shell hole. July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000474
German trenches demolished by artillery. July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000185
German trenches demolished by artillery, showing German dead. July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000301
Trench from which 14th Battalion made their charge.Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3194765
Machine Gun Section (2nd Battalion, Cdn. Expeditionary Force) at Scottish Lines near Poperinhge, not far from Ypres. This photo was taken by an Official War Photographer while the 2nd Bn. was out in Rest Billets after fighting at Sanctuary Woods, Maple Copse (Battles of the Somme). Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000423
Machine Gun Section (2nd Battalion, Cdn. Expeditionary Force) at Scottish Lines near Poperinhge, not far from Ypres. This photo was taken by an Official War Photographer while the 2nd Bn. was out in Rest Billets after fighting at Sanctuary Woods, Maple Copse (Battles of the Somme). Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000346
Bad Cases. No. 10 Casualty Clearing Station. July, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000341
Visit of General Sir Sam Hughes to the Front) Sir Sam Hughes and Staff visit captured German Trenches of the Somme. August, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521769
Visit of General Sir Sam Hughes to the Front) Sir Sam Hughes and Staff visit captured German Trenches on Somme. August, 1916.Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521737
Visit of General Sir Sam Hughes to the Front) Sir Sam Hughes and Staff visit captured German Trenches on Somme. August, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521739
Sir Sam Hughes and Staff visit captured German Trenches on Somme. August, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521755
Visit of Gen. Sir Sam Hughes to the Front) Gen. Sir Sam Hughes and party watch an advance on the Somme August, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521741
Bombardment of Courcelette. Sept. 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521823
Horse ambulance picking up wounded at advanced Dressing Station, close up behind front during the great battle. Sept. 15th, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3194276
Building dummy Tanks, Somme. September 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395186
Building dummy Tanks, Somme. September 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395185
Shells bursting during an attack by Canadian troops. September, 1916 Library and Archives Canada MIKAN 3521797
A heavy British bombardment on the Western Front. September, 1916.
Shells bursting over the Canadian First Line. September, 1916. Library and Archives Canada MIKAN 3521764
Canadian Transport being shelled on a road. Sept. 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521798
A Shrapnel bursts over Canadian First Line Trench. September, 1916. Library and Archives Canada. MIKAN 3521763
A high explosive burst close to Canadian Reserve line. Library and Archives Canada PA-000621
A bombardment on the Western Front. Sept. 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521822
A heavy shell bursts near the camera. September, 1916. Library and Archives Canada MIKAN 3521770
W.W.I. Big shell bursting in "No Man's Land. Library and Archives Canada. MIKAN 3521744
High Explosive bursting in in 'No Man's Land'. Sept. 1916.Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521743
Shrapnel bursting over reserve trench in Canadian lines. W.I. Castle / Library and Archives Canada / PA-000733
View looking backwards from front line trenches on Hill 60. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521745
Dressing wounded in trench during the battle of Courcelette. Sept. 15, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395804
German dead in a trench. captured by the Canadians, Sept. 15, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397786
German dead in a trench captured by the Canadians, Sept. 15, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397787
German dead in a trench captured by the Canadians, Sept. 15, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/
Battles of the Somme. Courcelette being shelled during attack by Canadians. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521799
A Canadian heavy Howitzer in action during the Battle of Courcelette. (Battles of the Somme). Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521765
Battles of the Somme. Courcelette being heavily shelled. Library and Archives Canada. MIKAN 3521768
Canadians returning victorious from battle of Courcelette. [Battles of the Somme] September, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3404741
The Sugar Refinery captured by the Canadians. [Courcelette, France]. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521803
Ground captured by the Canadians. Shells bursting on the Sugar Refinery [Courcelette, France]. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521802
German Trench captured by Canadians on the Somme. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397805
A German barrage during attack by Canadians on the Somme. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397797
The enemy shell the ruins of Courcelette [France]. Oct. 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521826
Panorama of Artillery barrage, Somme. October 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522715
A German barrage during attack by Canadians on the Somme. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397797
One of the roads to Bapaume. [Battles of the Somme]. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000884
A German barrage during attack by Canadians on the Somme. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397792
A German barrage during attack by Canadians on the Somme. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397800
German officers captured by Canadians on the Somme. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3403056
A German barrage during attack by Canadians on the Somme. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397803
A German barrage during attack by Canadians on the Somme. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397794
A portion of an old reserve trench on the Somme. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395575
A German barrage during attack by Canadians on the Somme. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397801
A German barrage during attack by Canadians on the Somme. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397799
A German barrage during attack by Canadians on the Somme. October, 1916.Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397804
A German barrage during attack by Canadians on the Somme. October, 1916.Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397791
An old trench on the Somme. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395574
A German barrage during attack by Canadians on the Somme. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397798
Village and battlefield of Courcelette. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521749
Huns still shell ground captured by the Canadians. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521828
Two officers on the battlefield. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521767
Two gas shells exploding near Canadian Lines. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521748
The battlefield after a Canadian charge. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521827
Village and battlefield of Courcelette. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521754
Village and battlefield of Courcelette. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521753
Communication Trench Leading to Canadian Front. Troops moving up under shell fire. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521793
Gas shells exploding near Canadian Lines. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3521747
"No Man's Land" in front of Canadian lines. October 1916, W.I. Castle / Canada. Dept. of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-000786
The battlefield after a Canadian charge. W.I. Castle / Canada. Ministère de la défense nationale / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-000868
Canadian troops 'going over the top' during training course at a trench-mortar school. October 1916. W.I. Castle/Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada / PA-000766
Canadian troops 'going over the top' during training course at a trench-mortar school. October 1916. W.I. Castle/Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000732
The battlefield after a Canadian charge. October 1916. W.I. Castle / Canada. Dept. of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-000826
A Scene on the battlefield near Courcelette. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3194772
The battlefield after a Canadian charge. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada. MIKAN 3194775
Canadian troops preparing to 'go over the top' during training course at a trench-mortar school. October 1916. W.I. Castle/Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000683
The battlefield after a Canadian charge. W.I. Castle / Canada. Dept. of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-000868
Canadian Official Photographer with other officers watching a bombardment. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3405553
Captured German field gun at Courcelette. October, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397795
Canadian troops returning from the trenches. November, 1916. Battle of the Somme. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada MIKAN 3521804
A Canadian heavy howitzer on the Somme. November, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395220
Canadian soldiers returning from trenches during the Battle of the Somme. W.I. Castle/Library and Archives Canada/PA-000832
German prisoners doing stretcher work on Somme. November, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3403060
A heavy howitzer on the Somme. November, 1916. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395221
A heavy howitzer on the Somme. W.I. Castle / Canada. Dept. of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-000848
4th Canadian Division, with every good Wish for Christmas and the Coming Year, 1917 - 1918. Library and Archives Canada, R8292-1
The Thief. This Jackdaw is a pet of the Canadian S.C. and was found on the Somme. The bird is continually stealing, but still remains the mascot of the Column. March, 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3404761
The Thief. This Jackdaw is a pet of the Canadian S.C. and was found on the Somme. The bird is continually stealing, but still remains the mascot of the Column. March, 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3404760
The Thief. This Jackdaw is a pet of the Canadian S.C. and was found on the Somme. The bird is continually stealing, but still remains the mascot of the Column. March, 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3404764
The Thief. This Jackdaw is a pet of the Canadian S.C. and was found on the Somme. The bird is continually stealing, but still remains the mascot of the Column. March, 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3404763
Free Canadian Coffee stall on the Somme. March, 1917.Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395489
A crater blown beneath the River Somme at Ham in an effort to flood the town May, 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3403824
A Canadian heavy howitzer on the Somme. May, 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395248
An old back line of trenches on the Somme as seen from a Kite Balloon. May, 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395580
A magpie which has been with a gunner since the Battle of the Somme. July, 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3396740
A magpie which has been with a gunner since the Battle of the Somme. July, 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3396739
A Canadian Artillery Officer and his cat which has been with him since the Battle of the Somme, outside an old German Dug-out. July, 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395585
The crater at Beaumont-Hamel. August 1917. Geoffroy-Dechaume, Charles Louis, 1877-1944 . MIKAN 3680251
What remains of the sugar refinery on the Somme. September, 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3403883
What remains of the sugar refinery on the Somme. September, 1917.Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3403881
Burial ground of many soldiers who died in the Battle of the Somme in 1916. William Rider-Rider / Canada. Dept. of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-002145
General Sir Sam Hughes watching British attack at Battle of the Somme. October, 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522039
General Sir Sam Hughes watching British attack at Battle of the Somme. October, 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522047
General Sir Sam Hughes watching British attack at Battle of the Somme. October, 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522038
General Sir Sam Hughes watching British attack at Battle of the Somme. October, 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522040
Private Michael O`Rourke, V.C., M.M. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3219606
Private Michael O`Rourke, V.C., M.M. Nov 17, 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3219604
On right: Private Michael O`Rourke, V.C., M.M. November 1917. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3219605
Memorial to 1st Canadian Pioneers, Somme. January 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3379698
Canadian gun firing on German trench mortar battery. May, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522126
Anti-aircraft section getting into action. May, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522127
The grave of Lieut.-Col. J.V. O'Donahue [i.e. O'Donahoe] D.S.O., 87th Battalion. May, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada MIKAN 3403368
The grave of Lieut.-Col. J.V. O'Donahue [i.e. O'Donahoe] D.S.O., 87th Battalion. May, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3403366
Three direct hits on a British gun on Canadian Front. June, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522415
Three direct hits on a British gun on a Canadian Front. June, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522416
German 8 inch shells bursting in the Canadian lines. June, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522141
German 8 inch shells bursting in the Canadian lines. June, 1918.Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522142
German 8 inch shells bursting in the Canadian lines. June, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522143
Three direct hits on a British gun on a Canadian Front. June, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522417
Canadian observing the movements of the Germans. July, 1918.Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3194817
The Town Hall where the Canadian Corps was formed, Bailleul. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3404097
The Town Hall where the Canadian Corps was formed. Bailleul. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3404096
Bailleul. Enemy electric or signal stations and ruins of Church. Farbus Wood in background. April & May 1919. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/
Bailleul. Enemy electric or signal stations and ruins of Church. Farbus Wood in background. April & May 1919