Valenciennes, Special Orders. Library and Archives Canada, Acc. No. 1983-28-2064
The Prince of Wales inspects a Canadian Machine Gun Battalion on the Valenciennes Front. October, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522349
Four Germans captured by Canadians near Valenciennes. October, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3403205
Germans captured by Canadians near Valenciennes, passing through a town. October, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3403206
Large Marrow found by 1st Canadian Machine Gun Battalion near Valenciennes, presented to the Prince of Wales. October, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522317
The Conde road near Valenciennes. October 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329387
The Prince of Wales inspects 2nd Canadian Machine Gun Battalion on the Valenciennes Front. October, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522315
The Prince of Wales inspects 2nd Canadian Machine Gun Battalion on the Valenciennes Front. October, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522316
The Prince of Wales inspects 2nd Canadian Machine Gun Battalion on the Valenciennes Front. October, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522312
The Prince of Wales inspects 2nd Canadan Machine Gun Battalion on the Valenciennes Front. October, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522311
The Prince of Wales inspects 2nd Canadian Machine Gun Battalion on the Valenciennes Front. October, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522310
The first Canadian patrol entering Valenciennes from the West. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522309
View of Valenciennes. Canada. Dept. of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-003623
A Canadian post in Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522308
The first German prisoner crossing the Canal de l'Escaut Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3403211
5th Div., Trench Mortar Brigade in action, within 500 yards of centre of Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522320
Canadian Patrol going forward. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522319
A Russian Pole made to fight by the Germans walking into the Canadian Line. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3398011
The first Canadian platoon to enter Valenciennes from the west, advancing towards the Canal. William Rider-Rider / Canada. Dept. of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-003377
Canadians going into Valenciennes over improvised bridge. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522318
Canadians dashing into Valenciennes under heavy gun fire. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522359
Canadian Patrol crossing the railway in Valenciennes under heavy machine gun fire. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522383
View of Valenciennes. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329389
Large slag heap near Valenciennes. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329388
One of the many fires started by the enemy before the Canadians drove him from Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522354
One of the many fires started by the enemy before the Canadians drove him from Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522337
One of the many fires started by the enemy before the Canadians drove him from Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522336
One of the many fires started by the enemy before the Canadians drove him from Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522335
View of Valenciennes. November 1, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA- 003623
Civilians returning to their homes on the Valenciennes Front, after Canadians had driven the Germans across the Canal. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397416
Canadians with French Gendarmes and civilians outside the Hotel de Ville, Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397415
View of Valenciennes from the air. November 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329390
French civilians talking to Canadians in Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397420
Cathedral at Valenciennes. November 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329391
The Hotel de Ville, Valenciennes. November 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329392
A Canadian Signaller repairing a wire in a street flooded by the enemy before he left Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3381015
A Section of the Station at Valenciennes which was destroyed by the Germans. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3403999
The arrival of the French Commandant in Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397421
The first civilian on left acting in Valenciennes for the American and neutral countries' societies for feeding the civilians. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3382685
The German flag which was taken down from the Hotel de Ville, Valenciennes, by some Canadian Artillery Officers. November 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397966
The flooded Station at Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3403995
It did not matter if one were shy or timid, one had to be kissed. This happened to nearly every Canadian when he passed through Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3396827
Civilians in Valenciennes cheer a Canadian ammunition column passing through the town. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397419
Civilians driving to their homes through flooded streets of Valenciennes on a Canadian car. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397418
A little French girl walking hand in hand with two Canadians through flooded streets of Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397417
A German machine gunner who fired his gun until killed by a Canadian sniper in Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397076
View of Valenciennes, showing the Cathedral. November 1918. MIKAN 3329393
Civilians returning to their homes in Valenciennes which are now flooded. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397422
Civilians returning to their homes in Valenciennes which are now flooded. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397423
Floods around Valenciennes through which Canadians had to pass to capture the town. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329394
Notices found on the walls of the Museum in Valenciennes. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329395
The entrance to the station of Valenciennes. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329397
The entrance to the station of Valenciennes. November 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329398
The entrance to the station of Valenciennes. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329399
The railroad station at Valenciennes. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329400
The railroad station at Valenciennes. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329401
The railroad station at Valenciennes. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329402
Civilians returning to their homes in Valenciennes which are now flooded. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329403
Civilians returning to their homes in Valenciennes which are now flooded. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329404
Civilian returning to their home in Valenciennes which are now flooded. November 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329405
A plaster statue in the Museum at Valenciennes, damaged by the enemy. Nov. 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3404000
Only empty pedestals left in Valenciennes Museum. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3404001
Caretaker showing Canadian where famous picture hung, valued at 3 1/2 million francs, which was taken away by the enemy. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3404002
In the Hall of the Museum of Valenciennes; all the bronze statues, paintings and tapestries have been taken away by the enemy. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3404003
The only picture left behind by the Germans; [Valenciennes Museum]. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3361280
87th Battalion Band playing outside Hotel de Ville. November, 1918. [Valenciennes, France]. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3396936
Three wounded Canadians with French Sister of Mercy, Hotel Dieu, Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395900
French nuns in Valenciennes and civilians greet the first Canadians to enter that part of the town. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397433
"Vive les Canadiens". Sisters of the Hotel Dieu, with some of their charges including a Canadian who was wounded soon after he entered the town. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397430
"Vive les Canadiens". Sisters of the Hotel Dieu, with some of their charges including a Canadian who was wounded soon after he entered the town. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397434
Sisters of the Hotel Dieu, Valenciennes, welcome the first Canadians. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397431
Wounded Canadian with Nun and little French girl in Valenciennes. Nov. 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397078
A bridge built by Canadian Engineers across the Canal near the railroad at Valenciennes. November 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329406
A bridge built by Canadian Engineers across the Canal near the railroad station at Valenciennes. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329407
A bridge built by Canadian Engineers across the Canal near the railroad at Valenciennes. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329408
President Poncaire addressing the deputy Mayors of Valenciennes, General Horne and General Watson, from the steps of the Hotel de Ville on Nov. 10th, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397438
President Poncaire addressing the deputy Mayors of Valenciennes, General Horne and General Watson, from the steps of the Hotel de Ville on Nov. 10th, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397437
The President of France walking through the streets of Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397424
The French President arrives in Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397425
Canadian Nursing Sisters in Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395896
An old French lady talking to a Canadian sentry. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397426
Canadian Nursing Sisters in Valenciennes, November, 10th, 1918, talking to soldiers outside a Y.M.C.A. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395905
Canadian Sisters talking to a French Nun, who cared for our wounded in Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395897
The deputy Mayors of Valenciennes thank the Army Commander and General Currie. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397435
C.C.S. Nursing Sisters in Valenciennes. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395898
Ward scene of a Canadian Casualty Clearing Station in Valenciennes. Nov. 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395899
The Army Commander General Horne with The Prince of Wales, General Sir Arthur Currie, the Deputy Mayors and Brig.-Gen. Odlum whose men captured the town of Valenciennes, inspecting the men. November 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522369
The Mayor of Mons, left, meets the Deputy Mayors of Valenciennes, right. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397167
Officers of No. 4 Casualty Clearing Station in Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3404943
Officers of No. 4 Canadian Casualty Clearing Station in Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3404942
O.C. and Nursing Sisters, 4th C.C.S. ["C" asualty "C"learing "S"tation] Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395902
O.C. and Nursing Sisters, 4th C.C.S., ["C" asualty "C"learing "S"tation], Valenciennes. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3395903
Red Cross lorries unloading supplies for refugees in Valenciennes. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3366153
A notice board outside Mons Station. November 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329043
Three famous sign boards for Canada's war museum. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3401241
Surrendered Fokker D. VII aircraft of the German Air Force near Namur, Belgium November 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3390439