Campaigns and Battles: WWI

Copy of last Press Telegram re capture of Mons. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3364410

The 3rd Brigade C.G.A. concert, Mons. 1918. H. Speeckaert/Library and Archives Canada/PA-034145

Nursing Sister, N.C.O.s and Men of 2nd Stationary Hospital who have received the Mons star. February, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3404882

42nd Battalion marching through the Grand Place, Mons, on the morning of November 11, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522363

42nd Battalion marching through the Grand Place, Mons, on the morning of November 11th, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522364

General Sir Arthur Currie, General Loomis and Officers in Grand Place, Mons, November 11th, 1918, taking the salute of the March past. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522365

Civilians from the outskirts of Mons pass 42nd Battalion on their way up. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522366

(British) A Canadian Post in front of Mons meets a German wagon containing four escaped Imperial soldiers, who are being taken to Mons, so that they can give information regarding the retreating enemy. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397353

The Prince of Wales takes a walk in Mons. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522367

The Prince of Wales takes a walk in Mons. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522368

A German punishment camp. The prisoners escaped when the Canadians took Mons. Nov. 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397166

The most Eastern Outpost on the British Western Front held by Canadians East of Mons. November, 1918. [Battery of machine guns in the 3rd Battalion, Canadian Machine Gun Corps.] Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522374

The most Eastern Outpost on the British Western Front held by Canadians East of Mons. November, 1918. [Battery of machine guns in the 3rd Battalion, Canadian Machine Gun Corps.] Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522375

Mined Cross Roads just outside Mons. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3404009

(Belgian) A Canadian pacifies a little Belgian baby near Mons, whose Mother was killed by an enemy shell; the child was wounded in its Mother's arms. The Father is seen in the picture. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3194345

42nd Battalion resting in the Grand Place, Mons, on the morning of the 11th november, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522377

42nd Battalion resting in the Grand Place, Mons, on the morning of the 11th November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522378

Canadians marching through the streets of Mons on the morning of 11th November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522379

42nd Battalion resting in the Grand Place, Mons, on the morning of 11th November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522380

The first time since 1914 that kilties have been seen in Mons, with the exception of prisoners; 42nd Battalion entering temporary barracks on the morning of November 11th, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522381

Canadians marching through the streets of Mons on the morning of 11 November 1918. Canada. Dept. of Nationla Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-003547

General view of Grand Place, Mons, [Belgium], showing General Horne inspecting 7th Canadian Infantry Brigade. Nov. 15th, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-040256

General view of Grand Place, Mons, [Belgium], showing General Horne inspecting 7th Canadian Infantry Brigade. Nov. 15th, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-040257

General view of Grand Place, Mons, [Belgium], showing General Horne inspecting 7th Canadian Infantry Brigade. Nov. 15, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-040258

General Horne, First Army Commander, inspects Guard of Honour, 49th Battalion. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522384

(Belgian) General Horne, First Army Commander, is seen on the steps of the Hotel de Ville, with the Mayor and Burgomaster. November, 1918 [Mons Square]. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397223

(British) Section of the R.A.F. passing the saluting base, in Mons Square on the occasion of the entry into the town of the First Army Commander. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397354

The Mayor of Mons, left, meets the Deputy Mayors of Valenciennes, right. November 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397167

General Horne and Officers at the salute while the British National Anthem is being played on the occasion of his entry into Mons. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522393

43rd Canadian Battalion marching past Army Commander, Mons, 15th November, 1918. [Gen. Sir H. Horne]. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522385

General horne, takes the salute of 7th Canadian Infantry Brigade. (Brigade which captured Mons.) November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522386

(Belgian) The Mayor of Mons addressing the Army Commander [Gen. Horne] November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397224

Canadian armoured cars passing Saluting Base. [Mons, Belgium]. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522387

C.F.A. passing the Saluting Base. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3405472

The Mayor of Mons calls for three cheers for Canadians. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397225

Brig.-General Clark, 7th Infantry Brigade with Battalion Commanders and their Seconds in Command, Mons. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522388

The N.C.O.s of P.P.C.L.I. in Mons. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397744

Officers of the 49th Canadian Infantry Battalion. Mons. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522389

Officers of the P.P.C.L.I. in Mons. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397745

Lt.-Col. Parkinson, Canadian War Records in Mons. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3219762

Officers of H.Q. Staff, 7th Canadian Infantry Brigade in Mons. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522390

Brigadier-General Clark, whose men captured Mons, with his four Battalion Commanders and the Burgomasters of Mons. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3522391

(Belgian) Civilians with their Band outside the theatre sing their national anthem after Canadians entered the town. [Mons]. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397233

A German munition train in Mons Station, which the enemy were unable to take away. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397979

A notice board outside Mons Station. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3329043

A Canadian looking at a second class German carriage from which the Germans cut the coverings of the seats before departing from Mons. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397981

German trains in Mons Station left behind in the hurried retreat. November, 1918. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3397980

(Presentation of Cdn Guns to City of Mons.) Lt.-Col.W. Bovey, Canadian Representative making a speech. April & May 1919. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3394785

(Presentation of Cdn. Guns to city of Mons.) German prisoners bringing in the guns. April & May 1919. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3394786

(Presentation of Cdn. Guns to the City of Mons.) Lt.-Col. W. Bovey, Lt-Gen. Clooten and Burgomaster Lescarts. - April & May 1919. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3394787

(Presentation of Cdn. Guns of to City of Mons.) Lt.-Gen. Clooten, Belgian Army, Burgomaster Lescarts, Lt-Col. W. Bovey, Major J.S. McAughey, April & May 1919. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3394788

(Presentation of Cdn. Guns to City of Mons.) German prisoners placing guns in position. April & May 1919. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3394789

(Presentation of Cdn. Guns to City of Mons.) Lt-Col. W. Bovey, Burgomaster Lescarts and Lt-Gen. Clooten. April & May 1919. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3394790

(Presentation of Cdn. Guns to City of Mons.) Lt.-Col. W. Bovey writing an inscription over one of the guns. April & May 1919. Canada. Dept. of National Defence/Library and Archives Canada/ MIKAN 3394791

[Canadian entry into Mons] Mons, le 11 Novembre 1918. Photograph of an artwork by H. Léonard, depicting the Canadian entry into Mons on the 11th of November, 1918.

[Canadian entry into Mons, Nov. 11, 1918]. By H. Léonard. PA-006216

Hip! Hip! Hip! Hurrah! Photograph of an artwork by H. Léonard. PA-006217