LibGuides: The Torch: Opportunities

Starting November 2025, The Torch will no longer be active and will not be updated. The site will remain temporarily available in read-only mode for reference purposes.

To continue your learning, please visit CAF Campus – your hub for CAF Professional Development.

---

À compter du novembre 2025, The Torch ne sera plus actif et ne sera plus mis à jour. Le site restera temporairement accessible en mode lecture seule à des fins de référence.

Pour poursuivre votre apprentissage, veuillez consulter le Campus FAC - votre plateforme pour le développement professionnel.

CAF Self-Development Learning Hub

THE TORCH

(Managed by the Canadian Defence Academy)

(Does not work on DWAN)

ABOUT

This section is designed to assist members with finding free or inexpensive learning opportunities for their continuous / lifelong learning. It also outlines some education and training opportunities for members transitioning from the CAF as well as some Executive Education programs for senior leaders. Finally, it also provides a link to information concerning the new CAF Self-Development Program (CAFSDP) which provides military members with financial assistance for education upgrading, professional development, and preparation for career transition.

But, we start first with some inhouse DND / CAF opportunities:

Learning is not on hold! Renewed focus on virtual training delivery and advice for Defence Team members.

https://www.canada.ca/en/department-national-defence/maple-leaf/defence/2020/09/learning-is-not-on-hold.html

Note: The CAF does not specifically endorse any of these sites and it is NOT responsible for any funding required for any of them. While several of the links provided in the 'Online Courses' section below offer 'free' learning opportunities, there might be some additional costs. That said, this does not stop members from applying and potentially being reimbursed through other means such as the Education Reimburement (ER) program. https://www.canada.ca/en/department-national-defence/services/benefits-military/education-training/reimbursements-allowances/education.html

Online Courses - Mostly FREE

edX (FREE)
Access 2500+ Online Courses from 140 Institutions. 100% free but with the option of purchasing the certificate for each course or just completing the course. Includes institutions such as Harvard, MIT, Sorbonne, U of Queensland etc…
Alison (FREE)
Over 1,700 courses, 100% free. Interactive courses with quizzes that track progress, Options for “Premium” at 7.99 Pounds/monthly. Premium consists of discounts and no ads. Can also purchase certificates and even diplomas.
Khan Academy (FREE)
A non-profit with the mission to provide a free, world-class education for anyone, anywhere. No Sign up/registration required. 100% free.

more... less...

Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. They tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. It focuses on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next! Our resources are being translated into more than 36 languages in addition to the Spanish, French, and Brazilian Portuguese versions of our site.
Open Culture (FREE)
1,500 Free Online Courses from the world’s Top Universities.

more... less...

Note: This page includes a lot of Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs). If you want to enroll in a free version of a MOOC, please select the "Full Course, No Certificate" (edX) or "Audit" (Coursera) option. If you opt to take the course for a certificate/credential, you will be charged a fee, and we will receive a commission from our affiliate partners--Coursera, FutureLearn and edX.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (FREE)
MIT offers hundreds of free liberal arts and humanities courses through its OpenCourseWare (OCW) program. In addition to courses, you'll also find stand-alone lectures and other education materials. Topics covered in MIT's OCW programs include literature, linguistics, philosophy, writing and humanistic studies, music and theatre arts, and women and gender studies.
Yale University (FREE)
Open Yale Courses (OYC) provides lectures and other materials from selected Yale College courses to the public free of charge via the Internet. The courses span the full range of liberal arts disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, and physical and biological sciences.

more... less...

The online courses are designed for a wide range of people around the world, among them self-directed and life-long learners, educators, and high school and college students. The integrated, highly flexible web interface allows users, in effect, to audit Yale undergraduate courses if they wish to. It also gives the user a wide variety of other options for structuring the learning process, for example downloading, redistributing, and remixing course materials.
Each course includes a full set of class lectures produced in high-quality video accompanied by such other course materials as syllabi, suggested readings, and problem sets. The lectures are available as downloadable videos, and an audio-only version is also offered. In addition, searchable transcripts of each lecture are provided.
Open Universities Australia (OUA)
You pay for your studies on a subject-by-subject basis.
Udemy
Courses from CA$12.99. Choose from 150,000 online video courses with new additions published every month

Post CAF Opportunities

Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) Education and Training Benefit
Thinking of going back to school after your career in the military? Get financial help to go to college, university, technical school, or a short-term program.
Operation Entrepreneur
Operation Entrepreneur (POE) is a national program that provides transitioning Canadian military personnel and Veterans with the education, tools and resources they need to build confidence, develop networks and start their own businesses.

CAF Self-Development Program (CAFSDP)

Self Development Programme Education Expense Reembursement (DWAN Only)
The SDPEER system allows members to request course-based funding to support CAF needs and the member’s goals.

Get your high school diploma: The CAF is here to support your academic journey

High School Education Initiative
If you are a Regular Force or a Reserve Force member of the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) who does not currently hold a high school diploma, the High School Education Initiative (HSEI) is for you. This is a great opportunity for members who joined the CAF without completing their high school diploma to obtain it while still serving in the military.

Executive Education

Government of Canada Executive Leadership Development Program (ELDP)
The Executive Leadership Development Program (ELDP) provides targeted learning and development opportunities for current federal public service executives in two streams, at the EX-01 to EX-03 levels and at the EX-04 and EX-05 levels.

more... less...

The ELDP is a non-promotional leadership development program that supports the strengthening of connections amongst executives in an effort to increase networks, share best practices and broaden individual perspectives. The ELDP provides a learning experience that cannot be found in executive programs available outside the public service.
Ivey Business School
The Ivey Academy at Ivey Business School is Canada's home for leadership development. It is
ranked as one of the top Executive Education providers globally by Financial Times. Strengthen your business acumen and leadership capabilities at Canada’s home for learning and development.

more... less...

Drawn from a range of custom models we’ve developed for a deep network of Canadian and international partners, The Ivey Academy Leadership Model is our vision of the traits and skills proven to support strong leadership. These core competencies inform our L&D goals, custom curriculum design, and open enrolment program offerings.
Rotman School of Management
At Rotman Executive Programs, Canada’s leading executive education provider for open-enrolment programs, we enable leaders to develop the capacity to transform themselves, their organizations and their communities by offering specialized business education programs for individual and organizations which address today’s business challenges and opportunities.

more... less...

Our programs for individuals cover all areas of executive training, including leadership, management, strategic human resources, governance and finance, for public, private and non-profit sectors.
Telfer School of Management
Telfer Executive Programs is the premiere provider of executive & leadership development programs across the National Capital Region, with a reach across Canada and internationally.

more... less...

At Telfer’s Centre for Executive Leadership, we offer highly experiential leadership development programs in which executives and senior leaders develop their skills and abilities to contribute to their organization’s success and get to the next step in their own careers.
Geneva Center for Security Policy (GCSP)
We are an international foundation serving a global community of individuals and organisations. Our mission is to advance peace, security and international cooperation. We provide the knowledge, skills and network for effective and inclusive decision-making.

more... less...

We believe that effective and forward-thinking leaders and organisations need to build a broad picture of what is happening in an increasingly connected world. We unravel the intricacies of geopolitics and help leaders to develop new skills and the agility to lead in times of tumultuous change. We create an inclusive environment for our global community from 184 nations and across sectors to come together to exchange ideas and develop sustainable solutions for a more peaceful future.
Center for Strategic & International Studies (CSIS)
CSIS offers year-round educational opportunities for individuals and organizations to increase their knowledge of geopolitical trends, understand the policy ecosystem of Washington, and to expand their personal leadership potential.

more... less...

Our courses bring CSIS’s reputation of analytic rigor and the value of diverse perspectives to life. We design instructional time to be stimulating and interactive, with expert seminars, hands-on application exercises, and professional skill-building sessions, including communications and leadership workshops, case studies, and simulations. Material covered in our courses is designed to be relevant to both participants’ current profession and future aspirations. All programs are open to professionals from a variety of fields, including corporate, government, nonprofit, military, and academic sectors. We take pride in working with professionals from around the world and building networks of change-makers. While we are looking forward to welcoming executive education participants back to CSIS headquarters in Washington, D.C., we are pleased to offer a variety of courses in a live, interactive, and high-quality virtual format. Please contact us for a custom program inquiry.
Harvard Kennedy School
With more than 35 open-enrollment programs led by Harvard faculty, Executive Education at Harvard Kennedy School is an invaluable educational opportunity for senior leaders from every sector of society who seek to optimize their effectiveness and make a difference.
Harvard Kennedy School (Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs)
The Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs is the hub of Harvard Kennedy School's research, teaching, and training in international security and diplomacy, environmental and resource issues, and science and technology policy.

more... less...

Through publications and policy discussions, workshops, seminars, and conferences, the Center promotes innovative solutions to significant national and international challenges.

The CAF Offer

Are you a Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) member, or thinking about joining? Learn what the CAF has to offer in return for your service to Canada.

Explore the full range of benefits, services, and more that are available to you. The CAF Offer web pages on Canada.ca can help you understand:

pay rates / allowances / healthcare information / leave options / pension plans / benefits

You can also explore information about benefits, such as for:

education / professional development / relocation / family support / … and more!

Aspiring CAF members may be surprised to discover everything the CAF offers. For example, upon joining, you may be eligible for a full, no-cost post-secondary education.

The CAF recognizes the unique contributions made by military members and their families. To help you save time finding the information you need, The CAF Offer will remain a comprehensive, up-to-date resource on policies, programs and practices that are designed to support members and their families.

Bookmark The CAF Offer on Canada.ca today!

Link to Your Device

'Forever Learning'